Why I used to hate The Great Saiyaman

At the age of 11, Gohan was able to defeat Perfect Cell in a climactic Father-Son Kamehameha. FatherSonKAMEHAMEHA

Seven years later, he becomes a knock-off super sentai. Great Saiyaman split

Toriyama, why?! Gohan was so cooool.

The Outfit…

Yes, like many children DBZ fans, I could not understand why Gohan wanted to wear such a lame costume. My biggest annoyance of his outfit was the stupid antennas. They served no actual propose. They don’t intimidate evil-doers , like batman’s cowl does.Nor do they function as some type of radio/communication device. Also, it made him look like a bug. My 12 year old self thought what kid Trunks thought about Gohan’s Costume.

Gohan: -dressed as Siayaman- “Alright! I love it! Now that’s what I call style. Hey, what do you think Trunks?”
Trunks: “Yeah it’s great…..” *thinks* if you like looking like a total geek that is.

Back Story: AKA Filler

For those of you who have no idea what I am talking about, here’s what you need to know.

Seven years after the evil cell was defeated, the Earth had relative peace. Due to that, Gohan was able to free follow his mother’s, Chichi, wishes to become a scholar, so he enrolls at Orange Star High School. On his way to his first day of class, Gohan witnessed an armed robbery who were currently having the local police on the ropes. As the good-hearted fellow his is, Gohan transforms into the golden super-saiya-jin form in order to conceal his identity for the moment.

Gohan found a passion for being the hero. Yet, he decided that the transformation was  not enough to mask his identity. With the help of Bulma ( Hot, CEO, Multi-Zennillionaire, philanthropist, Genius, and mom), She designed the Gohan’s costume and even made a wrist watch which allowed him to change into his Great Saiyaman Costume with a touch of a button. Thus, from badass hero, to LARP’er , Gohan became a laughing stocking ( and a Cringe).

The real cringe of the Great Saiyman

The most annoying characteristic of Gohan’s alter ego, was the amount of LARPING he put into. As a kid, to be honest, it thought it was completely GAAAAAYYY. (Yes, I used gay as a derogatory term for homosexuals, and that it was wrong of me. My only excuse, I was a dumb kid.) I could not stand his voice. “- THE HERO OF JUSTICE…”.  It was the opposite of the Christian Bale Batman voice-” WHERE’S RACHEL!!!”

The other half of the cringe was the poses. Most of the DBZ fans understood immediately that his poses were inspired by the Ginyu Force. I was not a big fan of the Ginyu Force when I first saw them in the anime or in the video games.Thus, the poses, even when Gohan did them, were whack, yo!

Side plot….

Speaking of the games, I was not impressed with the Great Saiyaman Character both in the budokai or the budokai tenkaichi games. ( Yes I know that the Great Saiyaman was the bonus character for budokai one, but I did not unlock him. ) In budokai tenkaichi 2, I would always transform back to normal “Adult” Gohan when the story made me plays as the Great Saiyaman. I wanted to shoot Kamehamehas. The Great Saiyaman could not. Therefore, he’s even lame in the games.

My Appreciation Great Saiyaman Dab

My appreciation did not really come from maturity but rather understanding Toriyama’s style. Thanks to the Dragon Ball Youtube community ( Team Four Star’s  satire Parody, and Geekdom101’s and Qaaman’s  DB Platforms), I learned how Toriyama is first and foremost a gag-comic. He also loves making parodies of pop-culture and incorporating  it into his work.

As I mentioned above, I called the Great Saiyaman a knock-off super sentia, which means power ranger. Athletic teen, tights, vivid colors, cheesy lines, and poses is the recipe for all power rangers. ( BTWs, power rangers aka the super sentias originated from Japan.) Toriyama was making fun of that through Gohan. When I finally learned about that, I was impressed. Toriyama nailed it.

Ginyu force TFS

In fact, Toriyama’s first parody of the Super Sentai in DBZ was the Ginyu force. Five members, each was a different colored alien, each with their own gimmicks, and the poses were the factors for the evil, super sentai parody. Then, Gohan intimated the Ginyu force’s pose for the Great Saiyaman. That’s good writing.  I was so dumbfounded that it took me until I was like 16-17 years old for me to realize this. By learning Toriyama’s style, I was able appreciate for what the Great Saiyaman is, a parody of the Power Rangers, which the Power Rangers were part of  my childhood.

As I mentioned, thanks to Youtube, I was able to learn and appreciate Dragon Ball and Toriyama’s Style even further beyond. Thanks to Team Four Star, I know LOVE the Ginyu TOKUSENTAI, which, through satire, improved  my opinion of Great Saiyaman.

The Ginyu arc of Dragon Ball Z abridged season 2 is probably my favorite part of DBZA, and it’s all thanks their WWE Parody of Recoome. dbz-hate

 

 WHY I LOVE GREAT SAIYAMAN ( and GOHAN).

Thank you Dragon Ball Super. You gave us baby Pan-chan! The Daughter of Videl Satan and Son-Gohan. Granddaughter of Son-Goku and our Lord and Savior ( Hercule Mark) SATAN! She’s 1/4 Saiya-jin and she’s too cute.

In Super, Gohan would often play with Pan-Chan as the Great Saiyaman. He would even do battle with Earth’s Champion SATAN in order to win Pan-chan’s heart. Please click on the link to watch this adorable battle.

DB Super episode 17 clip: Great Saiyaman vs Satan. Who will win PAN-CHAN’s Heart!!

Gohan being an actual, loving dad and husband, ( unlike Goku) is one of Super’s best ideas. Thanks for Gohan’s love for his family, he was able to become much more than the badass who defeated Cell.

The best example of Gohan’s love and resolve was Dragon Ball Super episodes 73 and 74. The initial premise of these episode was the making of a Great Saiyaman movie, and Gohan was not playing as the Great Saiyaman. These two episode brought a lot of development for Gohan as a Family man and Fighter and reminded us how Amazing Videl really is.Long story short, the plot thicken, evil alien takeover the actor’s body, Barry Kahn, the lead for the Great Saiyaman, turning Barry into a KING KONG like monster. With his family’s love, the Great Saiyaman saved the day.

That is why I know LOVE the Great Saiyaman.

That’s it nerds. Why do you guys think? As a kid, did you hate the Great Saiyaman ? Did you know about Toriyama’s style as a gag comic his love of pop-culture? Were you a SUPER SANTAI fan ( when it was good)? Did you love Team four Star’s Parody of the Ginyu  TOKUSENTAI? And, isn’t Pan-chan so cute and better than her GT version? Please let me know in the comments. Tune in next time.

Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z, Dragon Ball GT, and Dragon Ball Super are all owned by Funimation, Toei Animation, Fuji TV, and Akira Toriyama. PLEASE SUPPORT THE OFFICIAL RELEASE!

And you can do that by watching Dragon Ball Super on Crunchyroll.

You can watch it free, but it has a lot of ads throughout the videos. However, the one of thebest ways to make sure that DBSuper continues is to watch it officially. It’s how I watch Super.

If you’re bored and like Dragon Ball discussions….

 

Did The Ginyu Force Inspire Gohan To Be Great Saiyaman? A Qaaman’s Land Video, short 4 mins

Gohan: Father or Fighter A GEEKDOM 101 video. * Dragon Ball Super Spoilers of episodes up to 74. * It’s a 20 min Video.LONG, but Great.

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Rogelio

Krillin Strongest there is!!!!! My name is Roy and I love Dragon Ball! This blog is going to be about that. Catch you later! *Flies away on nimbus.

2 thoughts on “Why I used to hate The Great Saiyaman”

  1. I would agree. The costume, vernacular, and dancing were just too much. Especially since he went from beating cell to this. Lame. I couldn’t wait for that phase to end. Not the Gohan I want to remember. Other than that his, time as a “super hero” was fun to watch.If I could have changed one thing it would have been the posing, it reminded me of the Ginyu force.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

